Home > Web Application Development > More on Mylyn

More on Mylyn

Since my previous post on Mylyn, I have continued to use and am growing to like it even more despite the fact that there is no connector to our issue tracking tool of choice, Lighthouse Pro.  The context focusing is great for juggling multiple tasks.  It’s so easy for me to come back to a task and have all the files I need at the ready.  Now that I am using it regularly, there are two things I am noticing that are minor issues for me.  In fact, they may already have been addressed in the latest release of Mylyn.

Even though the context-focused view is extremely useful, I notice that for some files, after some changes, the file may appear bold, while others remain unbolded.  At first I thought this must be an indicator of the files that I have changed.  This would be very useful information when it is time to move the fixes into production.  I would know exactly which files need to be moved.  However, this does not seem to hold true.  I have made changes to some files and they remain unbolded, while others that have been changed, are bold.

I have read some other posts on Mylyn and I agree that the context-focused view might be a little more, and I stress a little more, useful if files were added on saving.  In this way, only files that are actually of use would be added to the context.  Sometimes, I open other files just to check how I performed a similar operation elsewhere.  I don’t necessarily need that file added to my context.

If I had these to issues addressed, I would be an even happier Mylyn user.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 4, 2009 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

