Home > 3D modeling, Personal > Getting back into Sketchup

Getting back into Sketchup

The past few days, I haven’t done any coding at home after work.  I decided to get back to something I really enjoy doing in my free time…3-D modeling.  I once had an interest in becoming an architect and still find myself looking at buildings taking in different elements here and there.  Google Sketchup is a free and simple tool used to build 3D models of buildings and everyday objects.  I’ve been using it off and on for a few years now and like to think of myself as something just past beginner.

About a year ago, I set about to model the entire ground floor of my house.  I walked all around the place with tape measure and pencil and paper.  I’m sure my wife thought I was crazy.  In the end, I had a fairly decent model including furniture, flooring, and appliances.  It was a lot of work, but I enjoyed doing it.

First floor

Life happened and I got very busy at work so Sketchup kinda took a back seat.  Recently, however, I decided to pick it back up.  I remembered a video podcast put on by Harwood Production Network (www.harwoodpodcast.com).  There are now at least 20 episodes I haven’t seen so I picked up where I think I left off building a simple model of a house.  It was great to see that I remember many techniques I had picked up before so I was modeling pretty quickly in no time.  3 episodes in and I’ve got walls, door and window components, paint, flooring, and cladding done.  Looking forward to finishing this one off.  Here’s what it looks like so far.

  1. September 2, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Looks great. I had not heard of Sketchup, but it looks like a really interesting tool. I bet a tool like this would be really nice when thinking about a home remodel. I find switching gears to projects like this once in awhile is a really nice diversion from normal pursuits like programming.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

