Home > ColdFusion, Web Application Development > LitePost on CFWheels – Getting Started

LitePost on CFWheels – Getting Started

Several months ago, the good folks at CFWheels ran a contest to create a version of LitePost using CFWheels.  LitePost is a simple proof-of-concept ColdFusion blog application built using various CF frameworks.  You can learn more at the LitePost project.  Although the contest ended a long time ago, I decided I would build my own CFWheels port of LitePost as a way to get more familiar with the framework.  This will be the first in a series of blog posts of the experience.

Getting started was pretty simple.  I just downloaded the CFWheels framework files and drop them in a project folder under my local webroot.  The I downloaded the LitePost database script and ran it on my local MySQL server.  I also added the Scaffold plugin from the CFWheels plugins directory.  3 steps and I was ready to begin.  But not so fast.  I decided rather than code, to take a step back and think about how a blog should work.  Sounds strange since I use a blog regularly.  But that is precisely the point.  I’ve used a blog before, but I’ve never coded a blog application.  So I’m looking at this blog and how it works so I have a good idea about how things should work in my version of LitePost.

Things I’ve noticed:

  • Blog entries are public, everyone can see them.
  • Everyone can post comments on a blog entry
  • Logged in users can create, edit, and delete entries.
  • The blog main page contains the 5 latest entries with a link to the full list of entries.
  • The category links in a blog post links to a list of blog entries in that category
  • The author link leads to a list of entries by that author

I think I have a fairly good idea now how my blog should work and can begin coding.  That brings me to my first coding task, and I didn’t write a single line of code to do it.  I ran the Scaffold plugin on each of my DB tables to create my models, views, and controllers for my CRUD functions.  That’s a lot of code generated automatically.  Now I can concentrate on customizing the generated code to work similarly to my WordPress blog.

As a last step to getting started, I browsed the styleshout.com site for a suitable layout for my LitePost blog application.  This is a collection of open source html templates you can download and customize for your own site.  I chose the TechJunkie template for my blog.  This template is designed for blogs and I like the color scheme and layout.

That’s it for the initial set up.  In my next post, I will integrate the TechJunkie layout template into the CFWheels framework.

    1. September 15, 2010 at 11:33 am

      Here is a link to the github repository for litepost. http://github.com/mhenke/litepost

      It has:
      Wheels
      MG
      FW1
      ColdMVC
      MachII

    1. No trackbacks yet.

    Leave a Reply

