Home > ColdFusion, Web Application Development > CFWheels Forum and Calculated Properties

CFWheels Forum and Calculated Properties

Continuing with my CFWheels powered Forum application, I had a desire to include a thread count and a post count for each forum listed on the main forum page.  In my old spaghetti coding days, I would first have used a retrieveForums query.  Then in my display code, while looping over the retrieveForums recordset, I would then query the threads table passing in the forumID foreign key to obtain a thread count for each forumID.  In a similar fashion, I would get a post count for each forumID.  The code below illustrates this scenario.

<cfquery name="getForums" datasource="myDSN">

 

SELECT * FROM forums

<cfquery>

<cfloop query="getForums">

<cfquery name="getThreadCount" datasource="myDSN">

SELECT COUNT(*)

FROM threads

WHERE threads.forumID = #getForums.id#

</cfquery>

 

</cfloop>

While this is not the CFWheels way, I found out that it is very easy to convert this code into CFWheels syntax with the same results.

Enter Calculated Properties.  Searching the CFWheels blog and documentation, I was able to find this little gem which allows me to assign additional properties to a given object based on a SQL query.  In this manner, property then becomes part of that object without the need to loop over a query to retrieve it as in the above code block.  This property can then be called just like any other property of that object.  Honestly, I’m not entirely sure I worded that correctly, but the bottom line is the result is the same as my spaghetti code example.  Let’s look at the new code in my forum model.


<cfcomponent extends="Model" output="false">

<cffunction name="init">

<!--- Associations --->

<cfset hasMany("threads")/>

<!--- Properties --->

<cfset property(name="postCount", sql="(SELECT COUNT(posts.id) FROM posts INNER JOIN threads ON posts.threadid = threads.id WHERE threads.forumID = forums.id)")/>

<cfset property(name="threadCount", sql="SELECT COUNT(threads.id) FROM threads WHERE threads.forumID = forums.id")/>

<!--- Validations --->

<cfset validatesPresenceOf(property="forumName", message="Forum name is required.")/>

<cfset validatesPresenceOf(property="forumDescription", message="Description is required.")/>

</cffunction>

</cfcomponent>

And the new display code.

<tbody>

<cfoutput query="forums">

<!--- Here we are outputting the forums query.  The forums query will return every forum with a post count --->

<tr height="35" <cfif currentRow MOD 2>bgcolor="##ebebeb"</cfif>>

<td><br/></td>

<td> #linkTo(text="#forumName#", controller="forums", action="viewForum", key="#id#")#<br/> #ParagraphFormat(forumDescription)# </td>

<td><br/></td>

<td>#val(threadCount)#</td>

<td align="center">#val(postCount)#</td>

</tr>

</cfoutput>

</tbody>

My new calculated properties–threadCount and postCount are now part of the forums object and can be used just like any other field/property in that object.

I hope my explanation makes sense.  Calculated properties will come in handy as I move forward with this project. CFWheels makes another programming task so much simpler.

  1. March 9, 2011 at 7:53 am

    I thought that was a great description of calculated properties. One thing worth noting is that the validatesPresenceOf validations that you have set up in your model aren’t necessary now in Wheels 1.1. As long as you have the columns in the database set to NOT NULL, Wheels is smart enough to recognize that with automatic validations.

    Keep writing. Very helpful stuff!

  2. March 9, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Great post Kenneth! I’m trying to learn cfWheels as time allows right now, so I plan to keep an eye on your blog for these kinds of tips! I’m really enjoying the framework as well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

